stevetabler

  • December 2012
    S M T W T F S
         
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Subscribe

  • Meta

  • Notices:

    Except for provisions made within this blog, no portion of this blog may be stored in another Data Warehouse or other data retrieval system without the express permission of Steve Tabler and Finally, legal notices may not be sent to Steve Tabler at any email address or by any other electronic means!

Email client

Posted by stevetabler on December 7, 2012

I’ve used several email clients. Pine, Outlook, Outlook Express, and Eudora. Although dated, I keep going bac to Eudora despite some aspects of it being annoying. There hasn’t been any new work done on the original Eudora for a few years now. I’m not sure any is planned.

I am currently working on an Email client of my own, to replace Eudora on my system. I’m concentrating on the parts of an Email client I currently use. I want something I can just drop-in and directly use with my existing Eudora email files without having to do an import operation…..importing 10+ years of email can take a lot of time. I also want to keep my email folder structure intact. Finally, I want to continue to use filters that are at least equal to the filters I can setup on Eudora.

Problems with other email programs I’ve tried:

  • Hard limit to the total size of accumulated messages.
  • Storing the filters, and other key parameters, in the registry, and then having to recreate them manually due to a registery error, or a re-install of Windows.
  • Sudden changes in focus due to a background activity within the email client i.e. polling a server.
  • Eudora currently suffers from some initial start-up problems when running in Windows 7. It works all right once the problem times-out, but it would be nice for it to just work.
  • Finer control of email polling is desired. Currently, I can set Eudora to poll for email once every 10 minutes. However, I use multiple email servers from and some of them I think that polling hourly or daily would be sufficient.

Current work on this project is just beginning. Work is being done in C#. I plan to share the results of this project once I have something to share. This may become a shareware/freeware/donationware project.

Leave a Reply

